My dad-in-law, my dad..

June celebrates Father’s Day.

And almost half of the bloggers in Malaysia at least, I reckoned wrote about their dad and fond thoughts of their dads.

I did not.

I did ask myself why didn’t I? I have only one answer for myself – what to write when I did not even stay with him. He deserted my arwah mother when I was only six years old and left us. And I especially, being the youngest in the familly hardly saw him eversince. Nevertheless, my al fatihah to him today, May his soul be placed among the good and the pious. Amin.

However this morning, I was awaken from my deep sleep at about 6 am and had my dad-in-law (DIL) in my mind. I hope he is in great health as I am posting this today.

My father-in-law. The greatest in the world – to me at least. Ask me any day, I will never want to trade him with another father-in-law.  He is the best. Period.

Those early years being married to his second son, my dad-in-law (DIL) would wash my clothes, dried them and folded them. When I came back from work, he would have already tucked them nicely in my room. Not to mention, other zillion other things that he had always and would happily do for me…

My children are his greatest happiness as they are the only grandchildren that stayed with him. Four of my juniors grew up within his sight and care.

He is today bedridden due to his stroke that he had eight years ago.  He eversince is mobiled from his four children houses here in KL.  I think, the sad thing about being bedridden is how you got forgotten – in the hecticness of life around us.

Yeah true the children and cucu-cucu visited you when they have their time. But sadly though, when we have nothing to talk to you except for the first salam and hello, for probably the first 10 minutes as we arrived and the last five minutes before we left😦 *sigh*

I remembered the first few years when he had his stroke, I would sit on his bed next to him whenever I had the time and we would talk and talk for hours.  He is a man rich with wonderful words of advices.  My DIL really enjoyed sharing his experiences about life. We would talk about stuff in life, from the least important to the very most important.  I treasure his wisdom and stories and very often use them as my guidelines as well especially in bringing up my robust juniors !

My DIL’s  favourite advice would be – sayangkan anak, tangan-tangankan. And I did exactly that. No doubt I never spanked my children sampai ke tahap tali dera- lah😉 but I did and do spank them whenever they do bad. I love them greatly but remembering what my DIL has always said to me, would eventually shooh shooh away most of my guilt feelings.

And as I am remembering him today, I humbly seek my forgiveness for I know I have done loads that have hurt his feelings. Both from me and my family😦..

I prayed for his long blessed life. May Allah SWT give him good and happy life always. Please spare him his health…

He is never my in-law. He is my dad and Happy Father’s day, only belated Ayah !!

 

hani_dad

4 thoughts on “My dad-in-law, my dad..

  1. Upon reading this lovely piece, without knowing, im burst to tears sis!

    Indeed, he is truly a wise man…still vividly remember when we visited him(once upon a time), he would ask me what i want in life? What i wanna be? He advises me & my sisters alot & alwis encourage us to study hard & senang kemudian hari.

    I misses his inviting laughters…Semoga Pak lang diberi kesihatan yg berpanjangan…amin!

    Like

Leave a Reply

